top of page

Submitting my thesis

This blog has been quiet for awhile. That is because I pretty much put myself in a cave, only going out for yoga classes, meals, and family/childcare obligations, while I worked on my thesis. I told people on Facebook that my account would go pretty quiet, and it did, and I told my theatre posse (old co-workers) that I'd need to be removed from their list. I had hoped to get the thesis submitted early... like a few months ago. Instead it was submitted on time. By `on time', that means it arrived at the Graduate School on the deadline, 21 September 2018, that the AHRC and the University of Reading imposed on me. Oh, well. At least it wasn't late.

I posted this picture on Facebook on Thursday:

What felt good about attending a conference after I posted my thesis (despite the fatigue) was I got to talk to other researchers after all the cave time. My session was chaired by Dr Rebecca Bowd, from the University of Leeds. When I mentioned I had been at the post office that morning, in a conversation before our conference session, Material Cultures of Print, she decide in her introduction to tell everyone that I had literally just submitted, so I got a round of applause just for showing up... As I spoke in the last session of the day, our session was immediately followed by a wine reception at the Leeds Library. So... yay! Now to get ready for the viva/thesis defence... which will be at least one month away.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Follow Us
  • Facebook Black Square
  • Twitter Black Square
  • Google+ Black Square
bottom of page