top of page

Teaching a course at UCLA

From 1999-2001 I studied at the UCLA Department of Information Studies, which is where I got my Masters in Library and Information Science (MLIS) degree. This Winter Quarter, from January - March 2018, I returned as a visiting lecturer, teaching a course designed for undergraduate students. It's called History of Graphics, Typography, and Information Design-- a short description is online: https://ccle.ucla.edu/course/view/18W-INFSTD180-1

While it wasn't directly related to my current PhD research, I did have the chance to go in-depth in some areas that I don't normally research, to keep myself ahead of my class, and that did expand my knowledge of 19th century history and history of the book in general. One of the assignments I gave my class was to chose a manual printing method and to make a poster on it as well as give a 5 minute talk explaining how the method worked, the visual marker for the process (or pictorial syntax), some famous names associated with the process, and when the process was at its height. I must say I was very pleased overall with their work. Some examples of their posters are shown here:


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Follow Us
  • Facebook Black Square
  • Twitter Black Square
  • Google+ Black Square
bottom of page