top of page

Researching at the British Library

I used the British Library for the first time today as a researcher. I’ve been there before for librarian related meetings and I even once went on a tour of the underground tunnels with my husband. I’ve gone there for the exhibitions, but this is the first time I went as a reader.

What I liked: BL has practically everything, the reading rooms are clean, state-of the-art, equipped with Wifi access, and café. The material that I looked at was in much better condition than material kept in Chetham’s Library, where the pages of the first edition have gotten brittle. In face the BL has done some serious conservation work on the serialised editions of the encyclopaedias. They were conserved with Japanese paper to protect them from wear and tear.

What I didn't like: I think using it for the first time can be very intimidating. I’m saying this as someone who does understand why they have security and measures in place. Prior to visits you book an appointment online, but if you have a specific question you have to go through a "ticket system" and I don’t like ticket systems where you get an automated response that tells you someone will respond to your email within 10 business days. Every large library seems to be adopting this to be “efficient” and keep track of users and services. But I personally don’t like it.

I was relieved that my question about whether I had infact reserved the serialized version of the encyclopaedias was answered the morning I arrived by email, but still I find the system off puttting.

You also feel very policed when you arrive. While I can happily take photos on my phone for material that I know is out of copyright at Chetham’s Library, the BL want you to use their photocopier, or state-of-the-art scanner (for which you are charged as small fee) and the digital scan you get is watermarked.

So, no images in this post. It was well worth taking Sondra Miley Cooney’s advice, though, and seeing the serialised versions of the encyclopaedia, and looking at the roundels and the different subjects highlighted. As well as to see how other W&R Chambers’ publications were marketed in this serials inside and back covers.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Follow Us
  • Facebook Black Square
  • Twitter Black Square
  • Google+ Black Square
bottom of page